Experience ING New York Marathon…

Sometimes pictures speak louder than words so I have decided to let the photographs below tell the story…. I placed a yellow circle around me so you know which runner I am… can be hard to work it out in some photographs.

After the initial bottlenecks the runners started to spread out...
Coming up to the 10km mark... was feeling okay and running steadily...
Keeping a steady pace and making sure I had a drink at each station offering water and a sports drink...
Beginning to feel it...
Another check point crossed...
Pushing through and trying to stay focused...
And the walking begins... I have hit the wall....
I decided to mix it up (walk/run) and keep it positive....
Telling myself to keep going.... I'll get there in the end!
Left quad kept cramping up... not nice!
Still breaking into runs.... but it hurts...
Trying to walk my cramp out... didn't really work...
So close I can almost taste it, so I'm busy zigzagging around other runners so I can make it to the finish...
I can see the finish and it's looking pretty good!
I made it... and under the time I did the Flora London Marathon in 2009 (4 hours 59 minutes and 2 seconds)
Ready to pass out... it's been a very long day!
It's beginning to dawn on me that I've got at least an hour walk home yet after I pick up my bag from my numbered truck.
Better go pick up my medal...

Leave a Reply

